Home > subcommittees > Page
Ranking Member
Congressman Don Young

The Subcommittee on Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs oversees all matters regarding Native Americans, including the approximately 566 federally recognized tribes and Alaska Native Corporations, with nearly 1.9 million enrolled members.

Republicans on the Subcommittee are working to ensure freedom and economic development opportunity for Indian tribes across the country.

Jurisdiction of the Subcommittee:

  • Measures relating to the welfare of Native Americans, including management of Indian lands in general and special measures relating to claims which are paid out of Indian funds.
  • All matters regarding the relations of the United States with Native Americans and Native American tribes, including special oversight functions under House Rule X.
  • All matters regarding Native Alaskans.
  • All matters related to the Federal trust responsibility to Native Americans and the sovereignty of Native Americans.
  • General and continuing oversight and investigative authority over activities policies and programs within the jurisdiction of the Subcommittee.
  • All matters regarding insular areas of the United States.
  • All measures or matters regarding the Freely Associated States.
  • All matters regarding Native Hawaiians. 


Jay Obernolte 
California, 8th District

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen
American Samoa, At-large

Jerry Carl
Alabama, 1st District

Matt Rosendale
Montana, At-large

Lauren Boebert
Colorado, 3rd District

Cliff Bentz
Oregon, 2nd District


Recent Activity:


Latest News

Members Urge DOI, USDA to Consider Vaccine Mandate's Effects on Wildfire Response, Readiness

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Ranking Member Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) led a bicameral letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack and U.S. Department of the Interi...... Read more

House Republicans Introduce Endangered Species Act Legislation

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Ranking Member Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) joined U.S. Reps. Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.), Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Cliff Bentz (R-Ore.), Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.)and Ke...... Read more

Committee Republicans Welcome New Chief Counsel

Today, House Committee on Natural Resources Ranking Member Bruce Westerman (R-Ark.) announced Tara Hupman as the incoming chief counsel for committee Republicans. Charles Park, former chief counsel, ...... Read more

View All News


No upcoming scheduled events

View All Events